Business Incubator and Accelerator Directory—USA Workplaces for Budding Founders to Work, Learn and Network

 In Benefit Venture Blog, Directories

Business Incubator and Accelerator Directory—USA: According to Carl Schramm, there were 1,600 business incubators andbusiness incubator and accelerator directory—USA accelerators in the US in 2016. The Business Incubator and Accelerator Directory—USA presently only lists about 10% of that number, so use it freely, but keep looking round where you are! They come in many different styles and each tends to have its own particular focus. If you are looking for an incubator or accelerator, you will need to visit them to discover exactly what they offer. On the right is the shared working space at the Houston Technology Center.

It is difficult to define accurately which organizations are incubators and which are accelerators. Both sponsor the development of new enterprises. Both are highly valuable for the networking opportunities available. Incubators may or may not offer access to capital and frequently offer desk or small office spaces. Accelerators are most often based on competitive entry programs, are for limited periods. Finance is generally part of the deal and capital is generally in exchange for small equity stakes. Both frequently offer (and some insist) on learning programs.

Some business incubators and accelerators are commercial enterprises, others are nonprofit or based on cities and universities (there are over 200 based at business schools), or combinations of them. Another type of accelerator is associated with their sponsoring venture capitalists. Some funders are quasi-accelerators, offering pre-seed money and mentorship on a competitive basis.

There are also a growing number of large companies offering sponsorship and free products/services to eligible startups. Also, some accelerators will work with major companies on spinoff startups.

In addition, there are many co-working spaces, where networking can occur, but not an organized basis as with incubators, that offer formal events and training. Some accelerators and incubators also offer co-working space. There are also a growing number of maker spaces, where tech entrepreneurs can find equipment and networking for small-scale manufacturing.

Chains of maker spaces include Plug and Play Tech Center, which has locations in Arkansas, California, Illinois, Ohio, Kansas and Texas.

Alternatively, you may find what you are looking for in the Coworking Directory—USA, since there is beginning to be a blurring between the two types of spaces. Indeed, some have both incubation and coworking spaces.

This Business Incubator and Accelerator Directory—USA is under constant review. Comments and additions are welcome.

Each entry is marked I for Incubator and/or A for Accelerator. Where they specialize, they are marked: SE for Social EnterpriseT for Technology; W for Women. Where they have even greater specialization that is shown in brackets.

The Business Incubator and Accelerator Directory—USA in incomplete—for sure. Please write to will@venturefounders.com to make additions, updates or improvements. On the other hand, you can always search in your own area. The kinds of things for which search include: business accelerators or incubators, economic development organizations, local business schools, and small business development centers.

Business Incubator and Accelerator Directory—USA

Alabama

Bessemer Business Incubation System I http://www.bessemerincubator.net

BizTech A http://biztech.org

Decateur-Morgan County Entrepreneurial Center I http://www.alabamaincubator.com

Innovation Depot A http://innovationdepot.org

Shoals Entrepreneurial Center I http://www.shoalsec.com

The Entrepreneurial Center I http://www.neaes.org

Tech Parks I (T) https://techparks.arizona.edu/azci

Arkansas

The Ark A (T) http://arkchallenge.org

Bio Ventures I (T—life sciences) http://bioventures.uams.edu

Arizona

AZ TechCelerator I http://www.aztechcelerator.com

BioAccel A (nonprofit/science) http://www.bioaccel.org/index.php

Center for Entrepreneurial Innovation I (T) http://www.ceigateway.com

Seed Spot A (SE) https://seedspot.org

Tech Parks Arizona A (T—university) https://techparks.arizona.edu/azci

Moonshot at NACET A http://nacet.org/startup

California

Acceleprise A (T) http://acceleprise.vc

Alchemist Accelerator A http://alchemistaccelerator.com

Amplify LA A (T) http://amplify.la

AngelPad A (T) https://angelpad.org

Berkeley Ventures A (T) http://www.berkeleyventures.com

Bolt A (T) http://bolt.io

Boost VC I (T—VR, blockchain, AI, bots) http://www.boost.vc

Founders Space A http://www.foundersspace.com

Idealab I (T) http://www.idealab.com

Imagine K12 A (T—education) http://www.imaginek12.com

Launchpad LA A http://launchpad.la

Lemnos Labs A (T) http://lemnos.vc

Matter A (SE—media) http://matter.vc

Mucker Lab A http://www.muckercapital.com/muckerlab/about/

Octane Launch Pad A http://launchpad.octaneoc.org

Orange Fab A https://orangefab.com

Rock Health I/A (T—healthcare) https://rockhealth.com

Tumml A (T/SE—urban innovation) http://www.tumml.org

UpWest Labs A http://upwestlabs.com

YCombinator A (T) http://www.ycombinator.com

Colorado

Innovation Pavilion I http://www.innovationpavilion.com

Innosphere I (T) http://innosphere.org

The Business Incubator Center I http://gjincubator.org

Telluride Venture Accelerator A (SE) http://www.tellurideva.com

Connecticut

reSET Social Enterprise Trust I/A (SE) https://resetco.org

Florida

Beaver Street Enterprise Center I http://bsecenter.net

Business Incubation Program I https://incubator.ucf.edu

FireSpring Fund A http://firespringfund.org

Co:Lab I/A http://colabpensacola.com

Seminole Technology Business Incubation Center I (T) http://www.seminoleinc.com

Sid Martin Biotechnology Institute I (T—bioscience) http://sidmartinbio.org/beta/

Tampa Bay Wave A http://www.tampabaywave.org

TED Center Business Incubator I http://www.tedcenter.org/BusinessIncubator.html

Venture Hive I/A https://www.venturehive.com

Georgia

Advanced Technology Development Center I (T) http://atdc.org

Augusta-Richmond Small Business Incubator I http://www.arcsbi.com/index.asp

Startup Runway A (SE—women & minorities) http://startuprunway.co

Hawaii

Blue Startups A (T) http://bluestartups.com

Indiana

Flagship Enterprise Center I http://www.flagshipenterprise.org

Illinois

Healthbox A (T—healthcare) http://healthbox.com/

Impact Engine A (T/SE) http://theimpactengine.com

Insight Accelerator Labs A (T—healthcare) http://insightpd.com/accelerator/insight-accelerator-labs/

mHub  (T, specifically manufacturing) https://mhubchicago.com

Tech Nexus A (T) http://www.technexus.com

TechStars Chicago A (T) http://exceleratelabs.com

The Incubator I (T—science) https://www.theincubator.com

University Technology Park I http://www.universitytechnologypark.com/incubator/incubator.php

Village Capital A (SE) http://vilcap.com

International

500 Startups A (T) https://500.co

Blackbox A http://blackbox.vc

FinTech Innovation Labs A (T—finance) http://www.fintechinnovationlab.com

Fledge A (SE) http://fledge.co

INV Fintech A (T—financial) http://www.invfintech.com

The Founder Institute A http://fi.co//

TechStars A (T) http://www.techstars.com

Kentucky

Awesome Inc I/A (T) https://www.awesomeinc.org

Aviatra Accelerators I/A (W) http://www.badgirlventures.com/

Vogt Awards A http://www.vogtawards.com

Xlerate Heath A (T—healthcare) http://www.xleratehealth.com

Louisiana

Propeller I/A (SE) http://gopropeller.org

Maryland

Accelerate Baltimore A http://www.acceleratebaltimore.com

Conscious Venture Lab A (SE) http://www.consciousventurelab.com

Massachusetts

Bolt A (T) http://bolt.io

Business Innovation Center I http://businessinnovation.center

Maine

Maine Center for Entrepreneurial Development A http://www.mced.biz

Venture Hall A (T—healthcare) http://venturehall.org/accelerator/

Michigan

Ann Arbor SPARK A http://www.annarborusa.org/start-here/business-accelerator-services

Coolhouse Labs A http://www.coolhouselabs.com

Lansing Proto A (T—product development) http://www.alpha.hpcreatives.net/index.html

Tech Town Detroit I/A http://techtowndetroit.org

Missouri

Capital Innovators A (T) https://www.capitalinnovators.com

Nebraska

N Motion A http://www.nmotion.co

New Jersey

Tiger Labs A http://tigerlabs.co/home

New York

AngelPad A (T) https://angelpad.org

Blueprint Health A (T—healthcare) http://www.blueprinthealth.org

Blue Ridge Labs A (SE) https://labs.robinhood.org

Bolt A (T) http://bolt.io

Dreamit A (T—health/education) http://www.dreamit.com/#meaningful-experience

Entrepreneurs Roundtable Accelerator A https://www.eranyc.com

LaunchPad LI A http://launchpadli.com

Matter A (SE—media) http://matter.vc

New York Digital Health Accelerator A (T—healthcare) http://digitalhealthaccelerator.com

StartFast Venture Accelerator A http://startfast.net

The Accelerator A (SE) http://theaccelerator.business

Urban Future Lab A (SE/T) http://digitalhealthaccelerator.com

Z80 Incubator Labs I http://www.z80labs.com

North Carolina

Launch Chapel Hill A http://www.launchchapelhill.com

The Startup Factory A http://thestartupfactory.co

Ohio

Appalachian Center for Economic Networks A https://acenetworks.org/

Aviatra Accelerators I/A (W) http://www.badgirlventures.com/

Flashstarts A (T) http://www.flashstarts.com/accelerator/

Great Lakes Innovation and Development Enterprise A http://www.glideit.org/

JumpStart A https://www.jumpstartinc.org/

Launch House I http://launchhouse.com

The Brandery I http://brandery.org

Rev 1 Labs A https://www.rev1ventures.com/entrepreneurs/rev1labs/

Taivara A https://www.taivara.com/

Oregon

PIE I/A http://www.piepdx.com

TenX A http://tenx.org

Pennsylvania

Alphalab A (T—incl minorities) http://alphalab.org

Dreamit A (T—health/education) http://www.dreamit.com/#meaningful-experience

Good Company Ventures A (SE) http://goodcompanyventures.org

Rhode Island

Rev-Up A (revenue-based funding) http://www.betaspring.com

Tennessee

Co.Lab A http://colab.co

Nashville Entrepreneur Center https://www.ec.co

Project Music A (T—music) http://www.projectmusic.co

SMTEC A http://smtec.com

StartCo A http://neverstop.co

Zeroto510 A (T—healthcare) http://zeroto510.com

Texas

Capital Factory I https://capitalfactory.com

Clean Energy Incubator A (T) http://ati.utexas.edu/current-portfolio/clean-energy/

Coastal Bend Innovation Center I/A http://cbbic.tamucc.edu

Collide Village I/A http://www.collidevillage.com

Economic Growth Business Incubator http://egbi.org

Eden Business Incubator https://www.edentexasedc.com/eden-business-incubator

Emergent I (T) http://emergenttechnologies.com

Health Wildcatters A (T—healthcare) https://www.healthwildcatters.com

Houston Technology Center A (T) https://www.houstontech.org

Innovation Underground I http://ideafinishingschool.com

iStart Valley A (T) http://istartvalley.org

McAllen Creative Incubator I https://mcallenincubator.com/

Pioneers 21 https://pioneers21.org/

Research Valley Innovation Center I (T) http://rvic.org

RevTech A (T—retail tech) http://www.revtechaccelerator.com

SeedSumo A (T—healthcare) https://www.seedsumo.com

SKU A (T—consumer goods) http://sku.is

Tech Wildcatters A (T) https://techwildcatters.com

TechRanchAustin I (T) https://techranchaustin.com

Thinktiv A https://www.thinktiv.com

Unltd USA A (SE) http://www.unltdusa.org

Utah

Boom Startup A http://boomstartup.com

Vermont

Excelerate Essex https://excelessex.com/

Hula https://www.hulalakeside.com

Accel-VT https://www.accelvt.com/

VCET http://vermonttechnologies.com

Virginia

Hatch I http://startwithhatch.com

Utah

Boom Startup A http://boomstartup.com

Washington

Applied Process Engineering Laboratory I http://www.apel.org

Washington DC

Acceleprise A (T) http://acceleprise.vc

Fortify Ventures A http://fortifyventures.com

Seed Spot A (SE) https://seedspot.org

Wisconsin

gener8tor A http://www.gener8tor.com/gener8tor/


PLEASE NOTE: If you make contact with any of these organizations, it would be very kind if you would tell them that you came to know about them through venturefounders.com. Thank you.

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt