Maker and Hacker Spaces Directory—USA Community Workspaces for Creative and Technical People

 In Benefit Venture Blog, Directories

Maker and Hacker Spaces Directory USA: There are more than 150 entries in the Maker and Hacker Spaces Directory USA, which has been updated and improved in summer 2022. Please write to will@venturefounders.com to make additions, updates or more improvements.

New opportunities for entrepreneurs exist in maker and hacker spaces. They are not just for geeks and tinkerers. They provide a challenging environment where ideas are flashing. They are also communities where networking is the norm. The description, ‘maker and hacker spaces’ are often somewhat misleading, because they have what most coworking spaces have: stimulation and flexibility.

Maker and hacker spaces vary enormously, as do the facilities and equipment they have. Hacker spaces, as the name impliesMaker and Hacker Spaces Directory USA have an IT and/or IoT (Internet of Things) focus. Both may have equipment like 3-D printers, CNC machining, electrical equipment, darkrooms, woodworking or sewing equipment. Other spaces are for artists and creatives. You would need to visit (at least online), to find out if they have what you need.

Here’s one for example, Decateurmakers, in the image on the right. They cater for tinkerers, artists, woodworkers, engineers, sewers, welders, crafters, scientists, students, teachers, entrepreneurs, or general dreamers and thinkers. They say, “we’ll empower you with new skills through a supportive & diverse community of fellow makers, and inspiring hands-on maker experiences”.

There are some that are highly specialized—bio-science is one example. Many maker and hacker spaces attract creatives and have appropriate materials and equipment.

New Opportunities for Tech, Arts, Craft Entrepreneurs

Maker and Hacker Spaces are often run by nonprofits and may be open to kids and inventors, as much as to entrepreneurs. Some indeed, are affiliated with Libraries or Colleges. They frequently seek external finance, as well as charging membership fees. Many offer open days or evenings where interested potential members can find out more.

maker and hacker space directory usaBe aware that Maker and Hacker Spaces come in all shapes and sizes, as well as different ownership structures. Also, their specialisms vary widely. Some for example, are just for kids, others for artists and yet others specialize in a particular technique or process, eg 3-D printing.

Look carefully at the websites in the Directory, to make sure the space offers what you are looking for.

You can see from the floor plan of i3 Detroit that the variety and range of facilities would be likely to inspire many creative people, beyond their own field of work. Tinkerers delight in such spaces. Although ‘to tinker’ may sound like a derogatory term, from such work, many inspired innovations and companies are born.

Much innovation comes from transfers from one realm to another or by combining different skills and techniques.The Fourth Industrial Revolution is much written and talked about and interpretations of what it is actually are many and varied.

Rapid changes in technology, industries, as well as social patterns and processes in the 21st century due to increasing interconnectivity and smart automation. Changing social mores too, have an impact. There are more and more new business applications, with the figure for 2021 rising above 5 million over the previous twelve months. Many of of those are solopreneurs, who may well stay single person businesses, and need significant support and mentoring. Maker and hacker spaces could well experience high growth in near future.

If you cannot find what you are looking for in this Directory, then you may want to try the Coworking Directory—USA, or the Business Incubator and Accelerator Directory—USA.

Maker and Hacker Spaces Directory USA

Alabama

Makers Local 256 (Huntsville) https://256.makerslocal.org

Mobile Makerspace (Mobile) http://makerspacemobile.org/

Red Mountain Makers (Birmingham) https://www.redmountainmakers.org

Arizona

Gangplank (Queen Creek) https://gangplankhq.com/

Heatsync Labs (Mesa) http://www.heatsynclabs.org

Local Works (Flagstaff) http://flaglocalworks.com/about/

Xerocraft (Tucson) https://www.xerocraft.org

California

Ace Makerspace (Oakland) https://www.acemakerspace.org

Biocurious (Santa Clara) https://biocurious.org

Bio, Tech and Beyond (Carlsbad) https://www.biotechnbeyond.com

Chimera Arts (Sebastopol) https://www.chimeraarts.org

Counterculture Labs (Oakland) https://www.counterculturelabs.org

Crashspace (Los Angeles) https://blog.crashspace.org

Curious Forge (Nevada City)  https://thecuriousforge.org

Davis Makerspace (currently looking for a new space in Davis) https://www.davismakerspace.org

Double Union (San Francisco)  https://www.doubleunion.org

Fresno Idea Works (Fresno) https://www.fresnoideaworks.org/

Hacker DoJo (Mountain View) https://www.hackerdojo.com

Hacker Lab (Sacramento) https://hackerlab.org

Hackerspace LA (Los Angeles) https://hackerspacela.wordpress.com

HexLab Makerspace (Lake Balboa) https://hexlabmakerspace.com

Idea Fab Labs (Chico) https://chico.ideafablabs.com/

LA Makerspace (Los Angeles) https://lamakerspace.org

Mag Laboratory (Walnut) https://www.maglaboratory.org

Radicand (San Francisco) https://radicand.com

Robot Garden (Livermore) https://www.robotgarden.org

Root Access (Fresno) https://rootaccess.org/

SB Hackerspace (Santa Barbara) https://sbhackerspace.com

Sudo Room (Oakland) https://sudoroom.org

The Build Shop (Los Angeles) https://www.thebuildshop.org

The Crucible (Oakland) https://www.thecrucible.org/

23b Shop (Fullerton) https://www.23bshop.org/

Urban Workshop (Costa Mesa) https://urbanworkshop.net

Colorado

Denhac (Denver) https://denhac.org

Fort Collins Creator Hub (Fort Collins) https://www.fortcollinscreatorhub.org

Pikes Peak Maker Space (Colorado Springs) https://www.ssdmakerspace.org/

Solid State Depot (Boulder) https://www.ssdmakerspace.org/

Tinkermill (Longmont) https://www.tinkermill.or

Connecticut

CT Hackerspace (Watertown) https://www.cthackerspace.com

Make Haven (New Haven) https://www.makehaven.org

Nesit (Meriden) https://nesit.org

Rippowam Labs (Fairfield County) http://rippowamlabs.org

Florida

FamiLab (Orlando) https://familab.org

Gainesville Hackerspace (Gainesville) https://gainesvillehackerspace.org/

MakerFX (Orlando) http://www.makerfx.org/

Melbourne Makerspace (Melbourne) http://www.melbournemakerspace.org/

Tampa Hackerspace (Tampa) https://tampahackerspace.com

Georgia

Decatur Makers (Decatur) https://decaturmakers.org

Georgia Cyber Center (Augusta) https://www.gacybercenter.org/

The Maker Station (Marietta) https://wiki.themakerstation.com/Main_Page

Hawaii

Maui Makers (Puunene) https://mauimakers.com

Illinois

Fox.Build (Saint Charles) https://fox.build

i3 Detroit (Detroit) https://www.i3detroit.org

Makerspace Urbana (Urbana) https://makerspaceurbana.org

M Hub (Chicago) https://mhubchicago.com

Pumping Station: One (Chicago) https://pumpingstationone.org

River City Labs (Peoria) https://rivercitylabs.space/

South Side Hackerspace (Chicago) https://sshchicago.org

Indiana

Cyberia Makerspace (Indianapolis) https://www.clubcyberia.org

Make South Bend (South Bend) https://www.makesouthbend.com

MakerHive (Elkhart) http://www.themakerhive.com

Iowa

Area 515 (Des Moines) https://area515.org

Cedar Valley Makers (Waterloo) http://www.cedarvalleymakers.org

QC Co-Lab (Davenport) https://www.qccolab.com

Kansas

Make (Wichita) ICT http://makeict.org

Kentucky

Kre8Now (Lexington) https://www.kre8now.com

Louisville Hackerspace (Louisville) http://www.lvl1.org

Maine

Maine Fab Lab (Biddeford) https://www.fablabs.io/labs/mainefablab

Rockland Steelhouse (Rockland) https://www.rocklandsteelhouse.com

Maryland

Baltimore Node (Baltimore) https://baltimorenode.org

Fab Lab Baltimore (Baltimore) http://www.fablabbaltimore.org

Greenbelt Makerspace (Greenbelt) https://make125.org

Unallocated (Baltimore/Washington) https://www.unallocatedspace.org

Massachusetts

Artisans’ Asylum (Lower Allston) https://artisansasylum.com

Cambridge Hackspace (Sommerville) https://www.cambridgehackspace.com

Einstein’s Workshop (Burlington) https://www.einsteinsworkshop.com

Lowell Makes (Lowell) https://lowellmakes.com

Manchester Makerspace (Manchester) https://manchestermakerspace.org

Technopia (Worcester) https://technocopia.org

Michigan

All Hands Active (Ann Arbor) https://allhandsactive.org

Lansing Makers Network (Lansing) https://www.lansingmakersnetwork.org

Maker Works (Ann Arbor) https://maker-works.com

Jackson Makerspace (Jackson) https://tomlinsontalent.org/

Tech Brewery (Ann Arbor) https://www.techbrewery.org

Minnesota

Duluth Maker Space (Duluth) https://duluthmakerspace.com

Twin Cities Makerspace (Minneapolis) https://www.tcmaker.org/

Missouri

Arch Reactor (St Louis) https://archreactor.org

Hammerspace (Kansas City) https://hammerspacehobby.com

Inventor Forge (St Peters) https://www.inventorforgemakerspace.org

Montana

Bozeman Makerspace (Bozeman) https://bozemanmakers.org

Nebraska

Omaha Maker Group (Omaha) http://omahamakergroup.org

New Hampshire

Makeitlabs (Nashua) http://www.makeitlabs.com

Makers Mill (Wolfeboro) https://www.makersmill.org

Port City Makerspace (Portsmouth) https://www.portcitymakerspace.com

New Jersey

Fubar Labs (North Brunswick) https://fubarlabs.org

Maker Bar (Hoboken) https://makerbar.com

New Mexico

Make Santa Fe (Santa Fe) https://makesantafe.org

New York

Eyebeam (Brooklyn) https://eyebeam.org

Fat Cat Fab Lab (NYC) https://www.fatcatfablab.org

Genspace (Brooklyn) https://www.genspace.org

Hack Manhattan (NYC) https://hackmanhattan.com

Hardware Hack Lab (NYC) https://hardwarehacklab.io

IMC Lab https://theimclab.com

Ithaca Generator (Ithaca) https://ithacagenerator.org

Squid Wrench (Highland) http://squidwrench.org

Triple Cities Makerspace (Binghampton) https://www.tcmaker.org

Nevada

Bridgewire Makerspace (Sparks) https://bridgewire.org

Syn Shop (Las Vegas) https://synshop.org

North Carolina

Ashville Makers (Asheville) http://ashevillemakers.org

Foothills Community Workshop (Granite Falls) http://fcwhack.com

Splat Space (Durham) https://splatspace.org

Forge Greensboro (Greensboro) https://www.forgegreensboro.org

Ohio

Akron Makerspace (Akron) https://akronmakerspace.org

Big Fab Lab (bowling Green) http://bigfablab.com

BuildMore Workshop (Columbus) http://www.buildmoreworkshop.com

Hive 13 (Cincinnatti) https://hive13.org

Idea Foundry (Columbus) https://ideafoundry.com

Knox Labs (Mount Vernon) https://www.knoxlabs.org

Makers’ Alliance (Cleveland) http://www.alpha.makersalliance.org

Oregon

Art Design Exchange (Portland) https://artdesignxchange.com

Eugene Makerspace (Eugene) https://eugenemakerspace.com

PDX Hackerspace (Portland) https://pdxhackerspace.org

Rogue Hack Lab (Medford) https://roguehacklab.com

Watershed PDX (Portland) https://watershedpdx.com

Pennsylvania

Hack PGH (Pittsburgh) https://hackpgh.org

Hive 76 (Philadelphia) https://www.hive76.org

Make Lehigh Valley (Allentown) http://makelehighvalley.com

Next Fab (Philadelphia) https://nextfab.com

Makespace (State College) https://themakespace.com

Rhode Island

AS220 (Providence) https://as220.org/

South Carolina

Reforge (Charleston) https://www.reforge.io

Tennessee

CBI Maker Space(Crossville) http://www.cbimakerspace.com/cbi/

Knox Makers (Knoxville) https://knoxmakers.org

Make Nashville (Nashville) http://makenashville.org

Mid South Makers (Bartlett) https://www.midsouthmakers.org

Texas

Asmbly (Austin) https://asmbly.org/

Creatorspace (League City) https://wp3.creatorspace.org/

Dallas Makerspace (Dallas) https://dallasmakerspace.org

Fab Lab El Paso (El Paso) https://fablabelpaso.org

Ten Bit Works (San Antonio) https://10bitworks.com

The Lab.ms (Richardson) https://thelab.ms

TXRX Labs (Houston) https://txrxlabs.org

Utah

801 Labs (Salt Lake City) https://www.801labs.org

Make Salt Lake (Salt Lake City) https://makesaltlake.org

Syn Shop (Las Vegas) https://synshop.org

Vermont

The Foundry (Lyndon) https://thefoundryvt.org

Generator (Burlington) https://generatorvt.com

Virginia

757 Makerspace (Norfolk) http://www.757makerspace.com

Hacksburg (Blacksburg) http://hacksburg.org

Vector Space (Lynchburg) http://vector-space.org

Washington

Bellingham Makerspace (Bellingham) https://bellinghammakerspace.org/

Confluent (Richland) https://confluent.space

Hazard Factory (Seattle) https://www.hazardfactory.org

North End Makerspace (Seattle) https://www.northendmakers.org/

Seattle Makers (Seattle) https://seattlemakers.org/

SnoCo Makerspace (Everett) https://snocomakers.com

SODO Makerspace (Seattle) https://www.seattlemade.org/

Wisconsin

Milwaukee Makerspace (Milwaukee) https://milwaukeemakerspace.org

The Bodgery (Madison) https://www.thebodgery.org

PLEASE NOTE: If you make contact with any of these organizations, it would be very kind if you would tell them that you came to know about them through venturefounders.com. Thank you.

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt