Maker and Hacker Spaces Community Workspaces for Technical People

 In Benefit Venture Blog, Directories

Maker and Hacker Spaces vary enormously, as do the facilities and equipment they have. Hacker spaces, as the name implies have an IT and/or IoT (Internet of Things) focus. Both may have equipment like 3-D printers, CNC machining, electrical equipment, darkrooms, woodworking or sewing equipment. You would need to visit (at least online), to find out if they have what you need. Here’s one for example, Decateurmakers, in the image to the right.

Many maker and hacker spaces attract creatives and have appropriate materials and equipment. Maker and Hacker Spaces are often run by nonprofits and may be open to kids as much as to entrepreneurs. They frequently seek external finance, as well as charging memberships.

This directory of maker and hacker spaces is incomplete—for sure. Please write to will@venturefounders.com to make additions, updates or improvements.

Alabama

Makers Local 256 https://256.makerslocal.org

Red Mountain Makers https://www.redmountainmakers.or

Arizona

Heatsync Labs http://www.heatsynclabs.org

Local Works http://flaglocalworks.com/about/

Xerocraft https://www.xerocraft.org

California

Ace Monster Toys https://www.acemonstertoys.org

Biocurious http://biocurious.org

Bio, Tech and Beyond https://www.biotechnbeyond.com

Chimera Arts http://www.chimeraarts.org

Counterculture Labs http://www.counterculturelabs.org

Crashspace http://blog.crashspace.org

Curious Forge http://thecuriousforge.org

Davis Makerspace http://www.davismakerspace.org

Double Union http://www.doubleunion.org

Hacker DoJo https://www.hackerdojo.com

Hacker Lab https://hackerlab.org

Hackerspace LA https://hackerspacela.wordpress.com

HexLab Makerspace http://hexlabmakerspace.com

Idea Fab Labs http://ideafablabs.com

Idea Works https://fresnoideaworks.wildapricot.org

LA Makerspace http://lamakerspace.org

Kokiri Lab https://www.kokirilab.com

Mag Laboratory http://www.maglaboratory.org

Maker HQ http://www.makerhq.org

Maker Place http://www.makerplace.com

Mojave Makers https://mojavemakers.wordpress.com

Nimby Space http://nimbyspace.org

Null Space Labs http://032.la

Pen Source Maker Labs https://www.opensourcemakerlabs.com

Radicand http://radicand.com

Riverside I/O http://www.riverside.io/en

Robot Garden http://www.robotgarden.org

SB Hackerspace http://sbhackerspace.com

SLO Makerspace http://www.slomakerspace.com

Sudo Room https://sudoroom.org

TechShop http://www.techshop.ws

The Build Shop http://www.thebuildshop.org

Urban Worksop http://urbanworkshop.net

Vocademy http://www.vocademy.co

Colorado

Boulder Hackerspace http://boulderhackerspace.com

Denhac https://denhac.org

Fort Collins Creator Hub http://www.fortcollinscreatorhub.org

Hack SLV http://www.hackslv.org

Tinkermill http://www.tinkermill.or

Connecticut

CT Hackerspace http://www.cthackerspace.com

Make Hartford http://www.makehartford.com

Make Haven http://www.makehaven.org

Nesit http://nesit.org

Rippowam Labs http://rippowamlabs.org

Florida

FamiLab https://familab.org

Hacklab http://myhacklab.org

Swift Hackerspace http://swflhackerspace.com

Tampa Hackerspace http://tampahackerspace.com

Treasure Coast Makerspace http://www.treasurecoastmakerspace.com

Georgia

Decatur Makers https://decaturmakers.org

HackBerry Lab http://www.hackberrylab.com

My Inventor Club http://myinventorclub.com

The Clubhouse https://theclubhou.se

The Maker Station https://wiki.themakerstation.com/Main_Page

Hawaii

Maui Makers http://mauimakers.com

Idaho

Up Makerspace https://www.upmakerspace.com

Illinois

Fox.Build http://fox.build

i3 Detroit https://www.i3detroit.org

Makerspace Urbana https://makerspaceurbana.org

M Hub https://mhubchicago.com

Pumping Station: One https://pumpingstationone.org

River City Labs https://rivercitylabs.org

South Side Hackerspace https://sshchicago.org

SpaceLab http://spacelab1.com

Indiana

Cyberia Makerspace http://www.clubcyberia.org

Make South Band http://www.makesouthbend.com

MakerHive http://www.themakerhive.com

The Crucible http://thecrucible.org

Iowa

Area 515 https://area515.org

Cedar Valley Makers http://www.cedarvalleymakers.org

QC Co-Lab https://www.qccolab.com

Kansas

Make ICT http://makeict.org

Kentucky

Kre8Now https://www.kre8now.com

Louisville Hackerspace http://www.lvl1.org

Maine

Maine Fab Lab http://feedtheengine.org/what-is-a-fablab/

Rockland Steelhouse http://www.rocklandsteelhouse.com

Maryland

Baltimore Node http://baltimorenode.org

Brunswick Hackkerspace http://brunswickhackerspace.com

Fab Lab Baltimore http://www.fablabbaltimore.org

Greenbelt Makerspace http://make125.org

Industrial Commons http://industrialcommons.org

Unallocated http://www.unallocatedspace.org/uas/

Massachusetts

Artisans’ Asylum http://artisansasylum.com

Cambridge Hackspace http://www.cambridgehackspace.com

Einstein’s Workshop https://www.einsteinsworkshop.com

Lowell Makes http://lowellmakes.com

Manchester Makerspace http://manchestermakerspace.org

Technopia http://technocopia.org

Michigan

All Hands Active http://www.allhandsactive.org

GR Makers https://www.grmakers.com

Lansing Makers Network https://www.lansingmakersnetwork.org

Maker Works http://maker-works.com

Jackson Makerspace http://jacksonmakerspace.org/wp/

Tech Brewery https://www.techbrewery.org

The Geek Group http://thegeekgroup.org

Minnesota

Duluth Maker Space http://duluthmakerspace.com

NordEast Makers http://nordeastmakers.com

The Rabbit Hole http://tymkrs.com/rabbithole/

Twin Cities Makerspace http://www.tcmaker.org/blog/

Missouri

Arch Reactor https://archreactor.org

Columbia Gadget Works http://columbiagadgetworks.org

Hammerspace http://hammerspacehobby.com

Inventor Forge http://www.inventorforgemakerspace.org

Montana

Bozeman Makerspace http://bozemanmakers.org

Nebraska

Omaha Maker Group http://omahamakergroup.org

New Hampshire

Makeitlabs http://www.makeitlabs.com

Port City Makerspace http://www.portcitymakerspace.com

New Jersey

Fubar Labs http://fubarlabs.org

Maker Bar http://makerbar.com

Maker Depot http://themakerdepot.com

New Mexico

Make Santa Fe https://makesantafe.org

New York

Eyebeam http://eyebeam.org

Fat Cat Fab Lab https://www.fatcatfablab.org

Genspace https://www.genspace.org

Hack Manhattan https://hackmanhattan.com

Hardware Hack Lab https://hardwarehacklab.io

IMC Lab http://theimclab.com

Ithica Generator https://ithacagenerator.org

Squid Wrench http://squidwrench.org

Triple Cities Makerspace http://www.tcmakerspace.com

Nevada

Bridgewire Makerspace http://bridgewire.org

Syn Shop https://synshop.org

North Carolina

Ashville Makers http://ashevillemakers.org

Foothills Community Workshop http://fcwhack.com

Hacker Space Charlotte http://hackerspacecharlotte.org

Splat Space http://splatspace.org

Tesseract Point http://www.tesseractpoint.com

The Forge https://www.forgegreensboro.org

North Dakota

Meld Workshop http://www.meldworkshop.com

Ohio

Akron makerspace http://akronmakerspace.org

Big Fab Lab http://bigfablab.com

Buildmore http://www.buildmoreworkshop.com

Canton Hacker and Maker Place http://hackcanton.com

Dayton Diode http://www.daytondiode.org

Hive 13 https://hive13.org

Idea Foundry http://ideafoundry.com

Knox Labs http://www.knoxlabs.org

Makers’ Alliance http://www.makersalliance.org

Steamworks Labs http://www.steamworkslabs.com

Oklahoma

Prototek http://prototekokc.com

Oregon

ADXPortland https://adxportland.com

Eugene Makerspace http://eugenemakerspace.com

Maker Mill https://makermill.org

PDX Hackerspace http://pdxhackerspace.org

Rogue Hack Lab http://roguehacklab.com

Watershed PDX http://watershedpdx.com

Pennsylvania

Catalyst Space https://www.catalystspace.org

Erie Makerspace http://www.eriemakerspace.com

Hack Pittsburgh http://www.hackpittsburgh.org

Hive 76 http://www.hive76.org

Make Lehigh Valley http://makelehighvalley.com

Next Fab https://nextfab.com

The Hactory https://www.thehacktory.org

Makespace https://themakespace.com

Rhode Island

AS220 https://as220.org/category/labs/

Ocean State Maker Mill http://www.oceanstatemakermill.org

South Carolina

Reforge https://www.reforge.io

SubProto http://www.subproto.com

Tennessee

CBI Maker Space http://www.cbimakerspace.com/cbi/maker-space/

Knox Makers https://knoxmakers.org

Make Nashville http://makenashville.org

Mid South Makers http://www.midsouthmakers.org

Texas

ATX Hackspace http://atxhs.org/wiki/

Austin Tinkering School http://austintinkeringschool.com

Creatorspace http://www.creatorspace.org

Dallas Makerspace https://dallasmakerspace.org

Fab Lab El Paso http://fablabelpaso.org

Ten Bit Works https://10bitworks.com

The Lab.ms https://thelab.ms

TXRX Labs https://txrxlabs.org

Utah

801 Labs https://www.801labs.org

Make Salt Lake https://makesaltlake.org

Syn Shop https://synshop.org

Vermont

The Foundry http://thefoundryvt.org

Generator https://generatorvt.com

Virginia

757 Makerspace http://www.757makerspace.com

HackCville http://hackcville.com

Hacksburg http://hacksburg.org

Tinkersmiths Makerspace http://maker-works.com

Vector Space http://vector-space.org

Washington

Confluent https://confluent.space

Fab Lab Tacoma https://fablabtacoma.com

Hackerbot Labs http://www.hackerbotlabs.com

Hazard Factory http://www.hazardfactory.org

Metrix Create Space http://www.metrixcreatespace.com

OlyMEGA https://www.olymega.org

Seattle Attic http://seattleattic.com

SnoCo Makerspace http://snocomakers.com

SoDo Makerspace http://sodomakerspace.com

The Foundry http://www.bellinghamfoundry.com/#intro

Wisconsin

Milwaukee Makerspace https://milwaukeemakerspace.org

The Bodgery http://www.thebodgery.org

Wyoming

Firefly http://www.fireflyhackerspace.org

PLEASE NOTE: If you make contact with any of these organizations, it would be very kind if you would tell them that you came to know about them through venturefounders.com. Thank you.

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
0