Mission Driven Capital Sources of Seed & Venture Capital with a Sustainability Bias

 In Benefit Venture Blog, Directories

Mission Driven Capital: There are more and more sources of seed and mission drivenventure capital which have a bias in favor of sustainable business. They add criteria beyond the purely financial to make their investment decisions, but that does not in any way imply that they are soft touches.

Any pitch to these investors in mission driven companies will need to be even more rigorous than to conventional Venture Capitalists—to include the benefit-based aspects of the startup. They make statements such as this one from Now Capital, “dedicated to enabling early-stage companies with transformative solutions for a prosperous world. We invest seed capital into paradigm-shifting companies and accelerate startup growth through our networks and growth expertise.”

Approaching these mission driven capital organizations is best done by reference, and in any case close attention will need to be paid to the investment criteria these sources of mission driven capital use and the special requirements they demand of potential investments. A blanket and un-tailored approach will not do. Find out about the stage of business in which the company makes investments there’s no point in approaching a firm that specializes in seed capital if your business is well-established.

Before you even start you search for investors in mission driven companies, you may want to browse nearly 550 angel investors in social enterprise on AngelList., where you’ll find a treasure trove of mission driven capital investors.

Many of the mission driven capital sources have a special focus. I have marked each of the investors in mission driven companies with their special focus, and some have more than one:

  • Communities/Social Change (C/S)
  • Minorities (M)
  • Social/Sustainability/Environmental/Educational (S/E)
  • Technology (T)
  • Women (W), and take a look at the Venture Founders Directory of Funding for Female Founders.

Other investors in mission driven companies have an even sharper focus, for example:

Next Frontier Capital invests in Montana businesses; the Designer Fund invests in businesses where there is at least one founder who is a designer; Rise of the Rest Seed Fund only invests in promising seed stage companies outside Silicon Valley, NYC and Boston, or Afore Capital that only invests in pre-seed companies.

This list in incomplete—for sure. Please write to will@venturefounders.com to make additions, updates or improvements.

  1. Advantage Capital Partners (S/E) http://www.advantagecap.com
  2. Aligned Partners (W) http://www.alignedvc.com
  3. Arthur Ventures (T) https://arthurventures.com
  4. Aspect Ventures (W) http://aspectventures.com
  5. Astia Capital Runway (W) http://astia.org/astia-capital-runway/
  6. Backstage Capital (W & C/S)  http://backstagecapital.com
  7. Bain Capital Double Impact (S/E & C/S) https://www.baincapital.com/businesses/double-impact
  8. Belle Capital (W) http://www.bellevc.com
  9. Better Ventures (S/E) http://www.better.vc/approach/
  10. Big Path Capital (S/E & C/S) http://www.bigpathcapital.com/
  11. Broadway Angels (W) http://www.broadway-angels.com
  12. Builders Fund (S/E) http://www.thebuildersfund.com
  13. Catalyst Fund (M) http://cvcatalyst.com
  14. Catamount Ventures (S/E & C/S) http://www.catamountventures.com
  15. City Light Capital (C/S) http://citylightcap.com
  16. Clean Energy Angel Fund (SE & T) http://calcefangelfund.com
  17. Clean Energy Venture Group (SE & T) https://cevg.com
  18. Collaborative Fund (S/E) http://www.collaborativefund.com
  19. Committed Capital (S/E) http://www.committedcapital.com/
  20. Commons Capital (S/E, C/S) http://www.commonscapital.com/index.htm
  21. Cowboy Ventures (C/S & T) http://cowboy.vc/index.html
  22. Cutting Edge Capital (C/S) https://www.cuttingedgecapital.com
  23. Designer Fund https://designerfund.com
  24. DBL Partners (M & C/S) http://www.dblpartners.vc
  25. Echoing Green (W, M, S/E) http://www.echoinggreen.org
  26. Elevate Capital (S/E) http://elevate.vc
  27. Enable Impact (S/E) http://www.enableimpact.com
  28. Expansion Capital Partners (T) http://www.expansioncapital.com/index.php
  29. Female Founders Fund (W) http://femalefoundersfund.com
  30. Fenway Summer Ventures (T) http://fenwaysummer.com
  31. Founder Collective (S/E) http://www.foundercollective.com
  32. Foundry Group (T) https://www.foundrygroup.com/
  33. Fresco Capital (C/S) http://www.fresco.vc
  34. Funk Ventures (S/E & C/S) http://funkventures.com/venturecapital/
  35. Global Good (S/E, C/S & T) http://www.intellectualventures.com/globalgood
  36. Golden Seeds (W) http://www.goldenseeds.com
  37. Homebrew (S/E) http://homebrew.co
  38. Hudson Clean Energy (SE & T) http://www.hudsoncep.com/index.php
  39. Illuminate Ventures (W) http://www.illuminate.com
  40. Impact America Fund (SC, C/S, T) http://www.impactamericafund.com/
  41. Incite Ventures (C/S) https://www.incite.org
  42. Initialized Capital http://initialized.com
  43. Intel Diversity Fund (W, M) http://www.intelcapital.com/advantage/diversity-fund.html
  44. Investors Circle (S/E) http://www.investorscircle.net
  45. Kapor Capital (S/E) http://www.kaporcapital.com
  46. Koa Labs (S/E) http://koalab.com
  47. Lux Capital (T) http://www.luxcapital.com
  48. Mindfull Investors (S/E) http://mindfullinvestors.com
  49. Next Frontier Capital (S/E) http://www.nextfrontiercapital.com
  50. Now Ventures (S/E & C/S) http://nowventures.co/
  51. Obvious Ventures (S/E) https://obvious.com
  52. Omidyar Network (S/E & C/S) https://www.omidyar.com
  53. O’Reilly Alphatech Ventures (SE & T) http://oatv.com
  54. Owl Ventures (SE & T) http://www.owlvc.com
  55. Phenomenelle Angels Fund (W) http://www.phenomenelleangels.com
  56. Pipeline Angels (W) http://pipelineangels.com
  57. Plum Alley (F) https://plumalley.co
  58. Precurser Capital (C/S) https://precursorvc.com
  59. Radicle Impact (S/E) http://www.radicleimpact.com
  60. Rise of the Rest Seed Fund (C/S) https://www.revolution.com/entity/rotr/
  61. Rivet Ventures (W) http://www.rivetventures.com
  62. RSF Social Finance (S/E) http://rsfsocialfinance.org
  63. SJF Ventures (S/E) http://sjfventures.com/
  64. Social Capital S/E & T http://www.socialcapital.com
  65. Social Leverage (T) https://www.socialleverage.com
  66. Social Starts T https://www.socialstarts.com
  67. Sogal Ventures (C/S & F) http://www.sogalventures.com
  68. Sou Sou (W) http://banksousou.com
  69. Stray Dog Capital (S/E) https://straydogcapital.com
  70. Strugatz Ventures (S/E & C/S) http://www.strugatzventures.com
  71. The Builders Fund (C/S) http://www.thebuildersfund.com/
  72. The Jump Fund (F) http://thejumpfund.com
  73. The Rise Fund (S/E & C/S) http://therisefund.com
  74. Uberis Capital (S/E) http://www.uberiscapital.com/
  75. Village Capital (SE & C/S) http://vilcap.com/
  76. Vision Ridge Partners Sustainable Asset Fund (S/E) http://www.vision-ridge.com/sustainable-asset-fund/
  77. Vulcan Capital (SE & C/S) http://capital.vulcan.com
  78. White Road Investments (S/E) http://whiteroadinvestments.com
  79. Women’s Venture Capital Fund (F) http://www.womensvcfund.com
  80. Xcelerate Fund (W) http://www.xxceleratefund.com

PLEASE NOTE: If you make contact with any of these organizations, it would be very kind if you would tell them that you came to know about them through venturefounders.com. Thank you.

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
0