Mission Driven Capital Sources of Seed & Venture Capital with a Sustainability Bias

 In Benefit Venture Blog, Directories

Mission Driven Capital: There are more and more sources of seed and mission driven capitalventure capital which have a bias in favor of sustainable business. They add criteria beyond the purely financial to make their investment decisions, but that does not in any way imply that they are soft touches.

Any pitch to these investors in mission driven companies will need to be even more rigorous than to conventional Venture Capitalists—to include the benefit-based aspects of the startup. They make statements such as this one from Now Capital, “dedicated to enabling early-stage companies with transformative solutions for a prosperous world. We invest seed capital into paradigm-shifting companies and accelerate startup growth through our networks and growth expertise.”

Approaching these mission driven capital organizations is best done by reference, and in any case close attention will need to be paid to the investment criteria these sources of mission driven capital use and the special requirements they demand of potential investments. A blanket and un-tailored approach will not do. Find out about the stage of business in which the company makes investments there’s no point in approaching a firm that specializes in seed capital if your business is well-established.

Before you even start you search for investors in mission driven companies, you may want to browse nearly 550 angel investors in social enterprise on AngelList., where you’ll find a treasure trove of mission driven capital investors.

Many of the mission driven capital sources have a special focus. I have marked each of the investors in mission driven companies with their special focus, and some have more than one:

  • Communities/Social Change (C/S)
  • Minorities (M)
  • Social/Sustainability/Environmental/Educational (S/E)
  • Technology (T)
  • Women (W), and take a look at the Venture Founders Directory of Funding for Female Founders.

Other investors in mission driven companies have an even sharper focus, for example:

Next Frontier Capital invests in Montana businesses; the Designer Fund invests in businesses where there is at least one founder who is a designer; Rise of the Rest Seed Fund only invests in promising seed stage companies outside Silicon Valley, NYC and Boston, or Afore Capital that only invests in pre-seed companies. Some, such as Wave Equity Partners have very precise purposes. In Wave’s case, it is to find and empower innovative solutions that create high growth businesses and also nourish our ecosystem.

This list in incomplete—for sure. Please write to will@venturefounders.com to make additions, updates or improvements.

  1. Advantage Capital Partners (S/E) http://www.advantagecap.com
  2. Aligned Partners (W) http://www.alignedvc.com
  3. Renewal Funds (C/S & S/E http://www.renewalfunds.com
  4. Arthur Ventures (T) https://arthurventures.com
  5. Aspect Ventures (W) http://aspectventures.com
  6. Astia Capital Runway (W) http://astia.org/astia-capital-runway/
  7. Backstage Capital (W & C/S)  http://backstagecapital.com
  8. Bain Capital Double Impact (S/E & C/S) https://www.baincapital.com/businesses/double-impact
  9. Belle Capital (W) http://www.bellevc.com
  10. Better Ventures (S/E) http://www.better.vc/approach/
  11. Big Path Capital (S/E & C/S) http://www.bigpathcapital.com/
  12. Broadway Angels (W) http://www.broadway-angels.com
  13. Builders Fund (S/E) http://www.thebuildersfund.com
  14. Candide Group (CS/SE) https://candidegroup.com
  15. Catalyst Fund (M) http://cvcatalyst.com
  16. Catamount Ventures (S/E & C/S) http://www.catamountventures.com
  17. City Light Capital (C/S) http://citylightcap.com
  18. Clean Energy Angel Fund (SE & T) http://calcefangelfund.com
  19. Clean Energy Venture Group (SE & T) https://cevg.com
  20. Collaborative Fund (S/E) http://www.collaborativefund.com
  21. Committed Capital (S/E) http://www.committedcapital.com/
  22. Commons Capital (S/E, C/S) http://www.commonscapital.com/index.htm
  23. Cowboy Ventures (C/S & T) http://cowboy.vc/index.html
  24. Cutting Edge Capital (C/S) https://www.cuttingedgecapital.com
  25. The Cycle Effect Regenerative Capital (CS, M, SE, T, W) https://www.cycleffect.earth
  26. Designer Fund https://designerfund.com
  27. DBL Partners (M & C/S) http://www.dblpartners.vc
  28. Echoing Green (W, M, S/E) http://www.echoinggreen.org
  29. Elevate Capital (S/E) http://elevate.vc
  30. Enable Impact (S/E) http://www.enableimpact.com
  31. Expansion Capital Partners (T) http://www.expansioncapital.com/index.php
  32. Female Founders Fund (W) http://femalefoundersfund.com
  33. Fenway Summer Ventures (T) http://fenwaysummer.com
  34. Founder Collective (S/E) http://www.foundercollective.com
  35. Foundry Group (T) https://www.foundrygroup.com/
  36. Fresco Capital (C/S) http://www.fresco.vc
  37. Funk Ventures (S/E & C/S) http://funkventures.com/venturecapital/
  38. Global Good (S/E, C/S & T) http://www.intellectualventures.com/globalgood
  39. Golden Seeds (W) http://www.goldenseeds.com
  40. Harlem Capital Partners (M, T, W) https://harlem.capital
  41. Homebrew (S/E) http://homebrew.co
  42. Hudson Clean Energy (SE & T) http://www.hudsoncep.com/index.php
  43. Illuminate Ventures (W) http://www.illuminate.com
  44. Impact America Fund (SC, C/S, T) http://www.impactamericafund.com/
  45. Impact Engine (S/E) https://www.theimpactengine.com
  46. Incite Ventures (C/S) https://www.incite.org
  47. Initialized Capital http://initialized.com
  48. Intel Diversity Fund (W, M) http://www.intelcapital.com/advantage/diversity-fund.html
  49. Investors Circle (S/E) http://www.investorscircle.net
  50. Kapor Capital (S/E) http://www.kaporcapital.com
  51. Koa Labs (S/E) http://koalab.com
  52. Lux Capital (T) http://www.luxcapital.com
  53. Mindfull Investors (S/E) http://mindfullinvestors.com
  54. Mission Driven Capital Partners (CS/SE) https://www.missiondrivencp.com
  55. Next Frontier Capital (S/E) http://www.nextfrontiercapital.com
  56. Now Ventures (S/E & C/S) http://nowventures.co/
  57. Obvious Ventures (S/E) https://obvious.com
  58. Omidyar Network (S/E & C/S) https://www.omidyar.com
  59. O’Reilly Alphatech Ventures (SE & T) http://oatv.com
  60. Owl Ventures (SE & T) http://www.owlvc.com
  61. Phenomenelle Angels Fund (W) http://www.phenomenelleangels.com
  62. Pipeline Angels (W) http://pipelineangels.com
  63. Plum Alley (F) https://plumalley.co
  64. Precurser Capital (C/S) https://precursorvc.com
  65. Radicle Impact (S/E) http://www.radicleimpact.com
  66. Renewal Funds (C/S & S/E) http://www.renewalfunds.com
  67. Rise of the Rest Seed Fund (C/S) https://www.revolution.com/entity/rotr/
  68. Rivet Ventures (W) http://www.rivetventures.com
  69. RSF Social Finance (S/E) http://rsfsocialfinance.org
  70. SJF Ventures (S/E) http://sjfventures.com/
  71. Social Capital S/E & T http://www.socialcapital.com
  72. Social Leverage (T) https://www.socialleverage.com
  73. Social Starts T https://www.socialstarts.com
  74. Sogal Ventures (C/S & F) http://www.sogalventures.com
  75. Sou Sou (W) http://banksousou.com
  76. Stray Dog Capital (S/E) https://straydogcapital.com
  77. Strugatz Ventures (S/E & C/S) http://www.strugatzventures.com
  78. The Ecosystem Integrity Fund (S/E) https://ecosystemintegrity.com
  79. The Builders Fund (C/S) http://www.thebuildersfund.com/
  80. The Jump Fund (F) http://thejumpfund.com
  81. The Rise Fund (S/E & C/S) http://therisefund.com
  82. Uberis Capital (S/E) http://www.uberiscapital.com/
  83. Unschackled (S/E & M) https://www.unshackledvc.com
  84. Village Capital (SE & C/S) http://vilcap.com/
  85. Vision Ridge Partners Sustainable Asset Fund (S/E) http://www.vision-ridge.com/sustainable-asset-fund/
  86. Vulcan Capital (SE & C/S) http://capital.vulcan.com
  87. Wave Equity Partners (S/E & T) https://waveep.com
  88. White Road Investments (S/E) http://whiteroadinvestments.com
  89. Women’s Venture Capital Fund (F) http://www.womensvcfund.com
  90. Xcelerate Fund (W) http://www.xxceleratefund.com

PLEASE NOTE: If you make contact with any of these organizations, it would be very kind if you would tell them that you came to know about them through venturefounders.com. Thank you.

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt